Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: First Build - TLA-1F

First Build - TLA-1F

Hi everyone,

I have posted a few questions on the forums and received some responses, which I am very grateful for, so I figured it would be a good idea to start a build diary of my first build.

I have previously taken a Stagg S-Type guitar and dismantled it completely replacing everthing apart from the neck and body so I have some experience in guitar building but this will be my first kit build, a TLA-1F.

I swapped out the standard neck for a Maple one and had to do a bit of sanding to get it to fit, and have pretty much ditched all of the hardware upgrading the tuners and nut from Pit Bull, and everythng else except the bridge plate from various other suppliers.

So far the control cavity and bridge pickup routing have been widened to accept teh new electronics and I have shaped the headstock.

I've got to say that there's a few niggly issues (neck pickup routing is off centre, bridge plate mounting and neck screw holes are not square, some frets are cut shorter than others) but I guess that's part of the deal with these relatively affordable kits.

The neck is fitted, I have measured teh scale length and check the string alignment along the fretboard.

I am now trying to work out how to approach preparing the body and taking plenty of time to research and learn from others. The plan is to use the DT Bondi Blue body finish kit on the flame Maple top, DT Colourless body finish kit on the back/sides and DT Neck finish kit on the neck and fretboard. I also have the DT guitar wax.

But I am taking my time as I am learning a bit about Ash bodies, etc.

So far, am having a good time. If this works out ok, I am looking to try a hollowbody kit next.

Wish me luck.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG-20210208-WA0003.jpg 
Views:	184 
Size:	196.8 KB 
ID:	39169  
    ---------------------------
    First build: TLA-1F
    Second Build: PSH-1