Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: JMA-1 First timer..

JMA-1 First timer..

So i was lucky enough to open up a JMA kit on Christmas day which was a very unexpected gift from my wife and her parents.
    When it comes to guitar building i have zero experience but its always something i have been interested in.
    I haven't made a huge amount of progress just yet because i'm waiting for payday so i can invest in setting myself up with the right tools to do the job properly but i figured i can still at least get the ball rolling on my build diary.

So today i set out my kit and test fitted a few of the parts to get a better idea of what it would look like and to make sure i'm not missing anything but also to check for damaged parts and everything looks pretty good so far.

After checking out all my parts and standing about scratching my head for a good while with a cup of coffee wondering what heck I've gotten myself into i came to the conclusion that i wasn't missing anything and nothing was damaged. From there i decided to pull out a sanding block and get to work.

At this stage i wasn't looking to go into full blown sanding mode but more of a mission to identify any areas that may need a little extra work and to look for any glue marks,defects,dings etc.
    I'm pretty happy with the body i didn't come across many areas of concern and the body should come up very nice once i put a bit more work into it the photo probably doesn't do it much justice but the grain is quite nice as well.
    The neck and headstock however is probably going to need a little extra attention i haven't put a straight edge to the tuner holes yet but at first glance they appear to be a little out of whack and not lined up the best and one hole has a chip out of the edge from drilling.

The only other thing i did was to get an idea of how the neck sits in the pocket its not too bad not quite snug but no major dramas there either.