Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Fred's 1st Build - STA1M

Fred's 1st Build - STA1M

Hi guys,
    Okay, so this is going to be my first build. I've been playing guitars with double humbuckers (badly) for a few years (well... actually that's 20 few years...) and with age I'm starting to enjoy a nice clean funky sound and I thought I needed a Strat. And then I found I could build one... let's do it!
    So order was placed, and my kit arrived a few days later. That was couple weeks ago.
    There was a slight issue with the pickups, electronics and nut bones, but Adam sorted it out and a week after I had all the right bits with me.

I got from PBG:
    - STA-1M kit with gold hardware
    - Pure Vintage Tonerider pickups
    - replacement Bone nut
    - The Dingotone Colourless Neck Finish
    - Dingotone Guitar Wax
    - And a few Dingotone Luthier supplies (sanding paper, steelwool and copper shielding kit)

The plan is to make something like the deep blue STA1 built by Gavinturner a few months back that won GOTM April 2015. I had a blue Strat in mind and when I saw Gavin's that was almost exactly what I had in mind!
    So same concept but with maple fretboard, and looking at keeping the white pickguard.

I found some blue and black Colortone and I'm going to try and make a black-blue burst... wish me good luck!

Here are the pics of the kit:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0192.jpg 
Views:	325 
Size:	111.4 KB 
ID:	5978

Name:	IMAG0205.jpg 
Views:	316 
Size:	121.1 KB 
ID:	5977

And here are a couple photos of the guitar:

Name:	IMAG0213.jpg 
Views:	291 
Size:	131.0 KB 
ID:	5979

Name:	IMAG0215.jpg 
Views:	294 
Size:	122.9 KB 
ID:	5980

Very happy with the wood, looks beautiful!

So I got started yesterday with a dry build.
    I started by fitting out the machine heads... and found the holes were not quite lined up...

Name:	IMAG0237.jpg 
Views:	292 
Size:	125.6 KB 
ID:	5981