Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: ST-1: My First Build

Post ST-1: My First Build

Hello everyone!

I just completed my order a few days ago and am now waiting for the kit to ship and arrive.
    As of now, I've chosen to upgrade the tuners to Grovers and the nut to bone. I'll upgrade the pick-ups at another time in the future (I'm a student, so I have a tight budget).

I'm also in Canada, so I'm having a lot of trouble trying to find some nice aerosol paint to work with (it seems nitrocellulose lacquer is banned here or something?!). I was able to find nitrocellulose satin and gloss clear coats, but does anyone have any suggestions for what to do with the colour? I'm wanting to imitate the Olympic White colour or White Blonde stain... I fear Rust Oleum, or other cheap aerosols, will turn out kind of gross...

I'll keep you updated on the process.
    Cheers!

Rust oleum can work okay, you’ve just got to be patient in the application, diligent in your prep and use a cloth covered or non rubberised stand.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    FrankenLab
    Hand crafting guitars, because Death Rays are expensive.

I have just used MTN 94 on a project. Worked great on my test piece of pine. Worked great on my the guitar too, I think. Still waiting for the clear coat to cure.

Art stores sell it. If you have a Blick art supply store up there they have it. You can also get it online, and there website can also tell you where it's sold.

These are low velocity acrylic paints with enough solids in them to do a bit of filling the way some primers do. I just grain filled and painted without primer. First paint I have ever used without ever getting a drip. It has a little tendency to splatter or feel a little rough, which I am guessing is why they tell you to sand between every coat. I did that with 320 and it flattened right out. Dry enough for a new coat after 20 min. Fully cured after 7 days. My brush on acrylic clear coat went over it no problem.