Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Amena 5-String Banjo.

Amena 5-String Banjo.

Hey Everyone,

It's not very often I get to do some restoration/repair work on one of these, but I was recently asked by a nice lady to do some work on an Amena 5-String Banjo so it can be made playable again, what a cool project, eh?

Here's a pic of the Banjo in it's current state:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Amena Banjo_resized.jpg 
Views:	286 
Size:	147.2 KB 
ID:	31484

It needs a new nut, set of tuners, new bridge, and a general clean-up as well as a set of new strings, which the lady has supplied.

Should be a cool learning experience for me as I've never worked on one before but I'm assuming it's just like working on a guitar, the Banjo is a member of the stringed-instruments family after all.
    Last edited by DrNomis_44; 27-06-2019 at 01:10 PM.

Good luck with that Doc. Those banjos are surprisingly heavy.

Actually, banjos are almost a percussion instrument with that skin and a resonator!! Love me some bluegrass banjo but could never get the finger rolls working properly and eventually sold mine on.
    Are you re-skinning it, doc?
    "If it's Blues music in a bar and it helps people swallow their drink of choice, or it's a dance song and people get up off their chairs and shuffle their feet, or it's a Jazz tune and the Chardonnay tastes so much better... then it's all good."

- Marcel

Quote Originally Posted by corsair View Post
    Actually, banjos are almost a percussion instrument with that skin and a resonator!! Love me some bluegrass banjo but could never get the finger rolls working properly and eventually sold mine on.
    Are you re-skinning it, doc?
    Nah, just installing a new nut, bridge, and a set of new tuners on it so I can put new strings on it, the rest of it looks okay enough, I might need to buy some steel wool from my local Bunnings store to give the frets a burnish, and remove some rust from some sheet metal parts though.