Thread: TL1-AR First Build

TL1-AR First Build

Hell all,

I am an amateur guitar player, beginner woodworker and first time builder. Bit of a late first post as I am already a bit into my build but only some minor sanding, headstock cutting, and neck finishing (bit of a jumpstart on the finishing). Got an ash body telecaster kit with plans of doing a solid cobalt blue colored finish with an epoxy coating and a black pickguard. Unfortunately it seems that my TL1-AR kit did not ship with any pickguard to speak of so I will be buying a cheap one off amazon (I think it would actually be better than the kit one as well). The initial fitting of all parts seems relatively good. And the Head stock cutting came out really well. My only problem seems to be a slight gap between the neck pocket and the body. Minor sanding didn't seem to fix the problem. Any suggestions?

Welcome Sam
    Current:
    GTH-1

Completed:
    AST-1FB
    First Act ME276 (resurrected curb-side find)
    ES-5V
    Scratchie lapsteel
    Custom ST-1 12 String
    JBA-4
    TL-1TB
    Scratch Lapsteel
    Meinl DIY Cajon
    Cigar Box lap steel

Wishing:
    Baritone
    Open D/Standard Double 6 twin neck

Welcome Sam

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

"Unfortunately it seems that my TL1-AR kit did not ship with any pickguard to speak of so I will be buying a cheap one off amazon (I think it would actually be better than the kit one as well)."

Welcome Sam.
    Contact Adam. He really looks after his customers, and I've used the PBG p/guards with no issues. They've been as as good as any after-market ones you'll get from Amazon or eBay. And worth mentioning that even with "brand-name" p/guards, there's no guarantee you won't need to do some filing or shaping to make them fit any given guitar.

"My only problem seems to be a slight gap between the neck pocket and the body. Minor sanding didn't seem to fix the problem."