Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting JMA-6 Baritone Guitar build

Starting JMA-6 Baritone Guitar build

I'm a complete newbie to kit building (very first one!), although I'm an experienced guitarist/bassist/etc. Just about to begin on a build of a Pit Bull JMA-6 Baritone Guitar — accordingly, any JMA6-specific advice/tips/suggestions would be most welcome and appreciated.

Welcome Z80AL. I can’t give specific advice on that kit, but there is general advice. First be patient, take your time. You can’t rush the process. Second is any problem you come across someone else has already had and solved, so ask questions. Finally, be prepared to change your plans, the guitar will end being what it wants to be.
    Current:
    GTH-1

Completed:
    AST-1FB
    First Act ME276 (resurrected curb-side find)
    ES-5V
    Scratchie lapsteel
    Custom ST-1 12 String
    JBA-4
    TL-1TB
    Scratch Lapsteel
    Meinl DIY Cajon
    Cigar Box lap steel

Wishing:
    Baritone
    Open D/Standard Double 6 twin neck

Thanks for that advice, Fretworn — yes, am taking it very slowly (just applied the first coat of finish, so I have a long way to go!) May need forum help when it comes to wiring, as there's a distinct lack of info on the Pit Bull site re the baritone.

Help needed re JMA-6 baritone wiring ..... When I look at the wiring diagram I received after emailing Pit Bull, I'm just confused! (I'm an experienced muso, but a total 100% novice when it comes to guitar builds, and I'm afraid even stuff the rest of you guys can do in your sleep has me stumped.) The diagram Pit Bull sent me looks like this .....

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pit Bull JMA-6 Wiring Diagram.jpg 
Views:	316 
Size:	277.0 KB 
ID:	29851

My dumb interpretation of that is that multiple wires need soldering to the five-way switch. However, when I look at the five-way switch itself and the wires coming from the pots (see photo) .....

Name:	JMA-6 Actual Wiring.JPG 
Views:	300