Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: First build. SG 1

First build. SG 1

Well here goes. 1st build for me an SG 1.
    I am not very confident due to my skill level but looking forward to it.
    I am going to keep it very simple as I am just learning.
    Sanding back to 240 grit and going to stain the neck and body black then sand and then stain cherry red followed by several coats of tru oil for a nice shine.
    I've done the mock build and everthing seems good.
    I am worried about cutting the head stock so may leave this one standard. The headstock will be gloss black.
    The only problem I can see is that one of the pearl dots on the fretboard is raised quite a bit and not flush. Am I able to tap this in or should I attempt to sand it?
    Not sure how to post pics from my phone.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomtom View Post
    Well here goes. 1st build for me an SG 1.
    I am not very confident due to my skill level but looking forward to it.
    I am going to keep it very simple as I am just learning.
    Sanding back to 240 grit and going to stain the neck and body black then sand and then stain cherry red followed by several coats of tru oil for a nice shine.
    I've done the mock build and everthing seems good.
    I am worried about cutting the head stock so may leave this one standard. The headstock will be gloss black.
    The only problem I can see is that one of the pearl dots on the fretboard is raised quite a bit and not flush. Am I able to tap this in or should I attempt to sand it?
    Not sure how to post pics from my phone.
    Hiya Tomtom and welcome!

the easiest way to post pics from your phone is to download the Tapatalk App and post from that, it will allow you to resize photos and post directly to your thread or others.

The dot should have been levelled with the board form factory, there are two options here:

1. Very carfully sand it flat with the board