Thread: Scale length ad bridge placement

Scale length ad bridge placement

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	48362014_2460112000672884_7537230986694623232_n.jpg 
Views:	325 
Size:	32.2 KB 
ID:	29377

So I'm very new to building guitar kits and I was having some troubles with the bridge placement.
    I have measured 25.5 inches or 648mm from the inside face of the nut to the body and drawn a pencil line, but when I seat the bridge with the pickup in it as far fowards as I can, the saddles in their middle position are too far back, and would be almost falling off if they were at the scale length.

I did measure this with a tape measure, but I don't think I am too far off.

Will I need to extend the bridge hole forward or can I get away with just bolting it in where it is and trying to intonate it properly? The gap between the scratch plate and bridge does look larger than pics of high end teles.

Thanks.

Hiya JS_R

on a lot of the Tele bodies the Bridge pup seems to be placed wrongly. a number of builders have had to extend the pup cavity forwards to get the scales lengths correct. By the looks of it it seems you need to do the same else you run the risk of not being able to intonate at all.

If you were able to close the gap between the scratch plate and the bridge it'd be just about right wouldn't it?
    FrankenLab
    Hand crafting guitars, because Death Rays are expensive.

That's it FW I had to ease the bridge pup rout by about 6mm, would have been a bit less with the kit bridge but not even close with the Wilkinson 6 saddle bridge

Yup, what those guys said. get the bridge in the right spot and adjust the pick up cavity. You can do that with a dremel type tool, or a small sanding drum in an electric drill.
    Build 19 PSH-1 Kustom
    Build 18 HB-4S Kustom
    Build 17 WL-1 Kustom
    Build 16 TL-1TB Kustom
    Build 15 PBG-2-
    Build 14 FTD-1
    Build 13 RD-1 Kustom
    Build 12 DM-1S
    Build 11 MKA-2 -
    Build 10 Basic strat