Thread: Ben's new Build - TLA-1

Ben's new Build - TLA-1

Hi Guys,

My name is Ben, I'm a Carpenter and part time guitar player from Brisbane. My best mate bought me the TLA - 1 kit for my birthday a couple of weeks ago. I'm really excited to get started and learn the inner workings on how electric guitars come together, as I sure most of you probably found out on your first build. I can't believe I have never come across this before and after reading through the forum I'm already thinking of my second, third and forth build!

So...down to my build, I'm not in a massive hurry, I'd rather get it right and have to put a bit of time into it. I plan to start sanding over the next few weeks.
    I'm looking to go for a classic 50's Telecaster finish in a classic white blonde (more white than yellow) similar to the picture attached. So my first question is can anyone point me in the right direction as to achieving this finish? I want the colour, gloss, still transparent so I can see the grain but smooth at the same time(no texture - do I grain fill for this?).

Secondly, what do I coat the neck in to tint it slightly darker than as it comes out of the box but not too yellow.

Let me know if I'm biting off too much for my first build.
    I hope I'm not being too picky! :s

Thanks for your help in advance!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	50's Tl.jpg 
Views:	181 
Size:	38.6 KB 
ID:	26127  

Hi Ben,
    As I'm sure you know, ash has a huge grain depth, so you will need to fill the grain somehow. I have used feast Watson sanding sealer, but you will need a lot of coats to be able to sand it to a complete flat finish.
    Translucent white? Sorry no idea, but let me know when you find out 😋

Welcome Ben! If you are going for a translucent white, you’ll need to fill and sand smooth, then maybe use a tinted lacquer to get the see through white you’re after.
    FrankenLab