Page 1 of 18 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Sonics first build JMA-1: ShoeGazer MK1

Overlord of Music Sonic Mountain's Avatar

Sonics first build JMA-1: ShoeGazer MK1

Christmas came early today with the arrival of my first Pit Bull kit- JMA-1

Yay!

You’ve probably seen me lurking around the forums posting concept art and cars and otherwise being a nuisance…

Short intro history: I’m a graphic designer, who originally went to art school and then did a mechanics apprenticeship after growing up restoring euro cars with my dad.

I’m not especially musical and the only reason I can play at all is sheer bloody mindedness. Guitar has always been a no pressure, no expectations hobby for me. I do it cause its fun and that’s all. I’ve played in a bunch of bands, often relegated to bass, playing indie rock, punk/hardcore and swampy blues/stoner stuff mostly.

I have messed around with a lot of different guitars over the years, mostly re-wiring and minor restorations and repairs. I have always wanted to build one and as you may have seen in some other threads, I’m not short on ideas.

I actually recently lashed out on a new guitar and had a mate who builds acoustics come around and play it - after which he went straight to PBG and ordered a kit-that-shall-not be named. When I saw the prices of some of them I thought - why not? and ordered the JMA-1 as I’ve always liked the Fender offsets and it seems like as good a place as any to start.

The plan at this stage is to follow the recipe - Although I’ve already upgraded the tuners and I will definitely be ordering a graphite nut for it.. so we will see how I go resisting the urge to modify.

This is the look I’m going for using a colour from a Fiat 500. Its actually slightly metallic, but fairly subtle. Paplopeppers post with the black SG almost made me change to black, but I have two other black guitars already so I’m resisting the urge.