Thread: TLA-1 Build Its my first build.

TLA-1 Build Its my first build.

The unboxing.

It was well packed.

The Body.
    My initial thought was for a butterscotch blonde finish that whilst not a stain was thin enough to see some of the texture below it. I was thinking maybe a few thin coats of interior acrylic paint over a sealer with a clear coat on top?? This is something I will definitely need to look into. Watching some of the Dingo guitar finish videos on you tube with great interest. There are some minor imperfections where the shaping tools have marked the wood, but these will defiantly sand out, and also this is part of the joy of wood isn't it?

The neck.
    Beautiful. This is where I declare I am not a woodworker (save a single project in year 8 that I stuffed up completely) but I like it. I'll be spending some time to think about the headstock shape, not interested in a carbon copy of the Fender, but I will probably end up rounding off the end, and cutting out an arc from the bottom edge.

Neck fit.
    There is a fair bit of lateral movement, however I have seen before members comment that this is desired in bolt on necks so that I can make sure the neck is appropriately aligned before I commit to drilling the holes to fix the neck. The plastic nut was very well aligned, however I have the upgraded bone nut, so I will be looking into how I remove and fit a nut.

Pick guard.
    I upgraded to the black bakelite pickguard. It’s fit with the neck is very tight. The interior width of the pickguard at the pocket is narrower than the pocket width of the body. So I may be looking to widen the pickguard where it goes on top of the pocket. Another thing I will look into how I best do that. Oh and I’ll also move the neck pickup onto the upgraded pickguard.

Switch and knobs
    They look fine. The wires are long enough to go where they need to go.

Bridge.