Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: First build - PRS-1F

First build - PRS-1F

Hi everyone. I've never built a guitar before (or played one very well) but thought it looked fun and liked the idea of having one that I had personalised. The first hard decisions were which one to get and how I might finish it. I settled on the Pitbull PRS-1F, really liked the shape the specs seem great too. And I decided that a large bottle of tru-oil should get a pretty good finish on the whole guitar if I take my time.
    Trial fitting things had me very impressed with the kit but also revealed that I should of bought neck glue (I had been considering several kits and convinced myself I was buying a bolt on neck kit!).
    O well. While I wait for the glue to arrive I'll get a bit of practice with the tru-oil.
    Then I plan to check the scale length, glue the neck, and then get back to the oil. Hopefully 20 - 30 coats will bring the flame top up nicely.
    Can any of you spot any problems with this plan yet? If so I'd be happy to hear about it before I do anything too stupid!
    Cheers
    Phil

Hi Phil
    Avoid getting the oil anywhere near where you are gluing. The glue needs to bite into the timber itself and won’t stick if you have finish on the joint area

Hi and welcome PhilB.
    Good luck with the build.
    I really like tru-oil and have completed a number of guitars with it. A big bottle should easily see you through. Lots of thin coats is good, with a very light sand (I use 1200) every 5 coats. There are lots of variations of this though.

I have never put tru-oil directly onto basswood or flame maple. I did use it on the maple neck and pine wood body of my reworked explorer and loved the result. I would imagine the basswood would be very pale compared to the pine.
    PitBull Builds: FVB-4, LP-1SS, FBM-1, AG-2, TB-4, SSCM-1, TLA-1, TL-1TB, STA-1HT, DSCM-1 Truckster, ST-1, STA-1, MBM-1.

Scratch Builds: Pine Explorer, Axe Bass, Mr Scary, Scratchy Tele's.