Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 3rd Build AG-1 - Father-Son Project

3rd Build AG-1 - Father-Son Project

Yesterday I ordered kit number 3. AG-1 https://www.pitbullguitars.com/shop/...ic-guitar-kit/
    My 11-year old has taken an interest in playing and he has had a 7/8 size Sponge-Bob Square-pants guitar for about 18 months. Recently I have been catching him playing my early 90s MIJ Squier strat. I think it's time he got his own!

I think back to when I started playing and lessons never included how the guitar is built or what the parts do. When I recently did my first build I wished that I had known more about guitar anatomy when I started out.
    Hence, the reason for this build. While he is learning to play the guitar, he can also learn how it is built and how it works.
    Also - a sneaky way to start another build!!

We had a look at different guitars and he liked the SG shape and the classic cherry-red colour. I've found a few builds on here whose methods I'm following.

I would like to get some timber to test finishes. I was thinking the scrap-bin at the big green shed. What wood is most similar to basswood? Just looking for something to give us the best idea of how it will look.

Shipment Delivered

The kit arrived today. One really excited kid in the house (and one really excited adult too)!

All looking good so far. There'll be a bit more sanding required on this kit compared to my first 2 builds. They were mahogany and ash and both felt amazing out of the box. The basswood SG is a bit coarser and some of the routing and drilling was a tad rough.

Nothing that can't be overcome though and apart from a few dings and machine marks it will hopefully be straightforward.

I'll give it a few day before we do a proper mock-build but the neck fits well as it is.

I didn't notice the contrast in the 2 pieces of the body until I uploaded the photo which has highlighted it. Not that noticeable in real-life.