Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Wiring Help Needed

Wiring Help Needed

Hi all,

I am having issues with wiring up my guitar, I had it wired up last night and everything seemed to be working correctly, but the twisted wire on the pickup switch came unattached today and I haven't had any luck with anything working since I reattached it.

Any help would be much appreciated, as I have limited experience wiring a guitar.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20210601_204303.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	338.4 KB 
ID:	40737   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20210601_204320.jpg 
Views:	114 
Size:	307.8 KB 
ID:	40738   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20210601_204253.jpg 
Views:	119 
Size:	261.4 KB 
ID:	40739  

Hi.

I'd look at the output jack first. You've screened the inside of the jack socket hole, and this is a classic place for the signal to get grounded. You should be able to move the jack plate away from the body with a jack still in it, so if you get your signal back, then you know that's the cause. If you've got any insulation tape, then try and stick it over the copper tape in the hole.

Otherwise look for any stray strands of wire touching the copper screening. It only takes a single strand to ground all the output.

But if all the output is lost regardless of switch position, then the signal must be grounded between the switch output and the jack socket, which makes the jack socket tip prong touching the shielding the most likely suspect.

Good eye Simon!
    I completely missed that when I looked at it, and I reckon you've guessed right too!

Another trick to prevent the jack from shorting is use a piece large diameter heat-shrink tubing over the jack after the wires are soldered to the lugs. It will insulate both lugs and the tip contact all at once.
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...