Thread: Burst tips

Burst tips

Hi guys.
    Any tips on how to do a burst with stains?
    I have been practising on the headstock before I go to the body and I cant seem to get it right.
    I don't want to mess up on the body.
    Any tips from more experienced stainers?
    Name:  burst attempt.jpg
Views: 531
Size:  7.0 KB
    Thanks.
    “Think lightly of yourself and deeply of the world.” Miyamoto Musashi

Check out this guy: Big D Guitars on YouTube

He has quite a few videos on doing dye bursts. I don't agree 100% with everything he says, but he does get good results.
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...

3. Liked by: Mark_Shingleton

Hi Mark, won't say I am an expert with only one guitar under my belt but here's my take.

I practised a couple of time to see what dilutions gave what results. I wrote everything down and ended up making several 'blends'. Starting with the light colours on the in side, working my way darker to the outside. Getting good and even transitions was a matter of using a more diluted colour on the rag and whipping/ diluting the darker edge away.

I have watched plenty of videos on the process, but still had to go through plenty of practice runs to get the result I was after.

Attached pic of my guitar for reference.

5. Liked by: Mark_Shingleton

Quote Originally Posted by RocknRolf View Post
    I have watched plenty of videos on the process, but still had to go through plenty of practice runs to get the result I was after.
    There's no substitute for experience. Until you play around with the stains and techniques, you won't have a feel for what they are going to do.

7. Liked by: Mark_Shingleton

Check out this guy: Big D Guitars on YouTube
    Thanks, I will check him out.