Thread: Neck Pocket with PBG-N4RB

Question Neck Pocket with PBG-N4RB

Hey everyone,

I am very much an amateur builder, and this is my first time attempting to do some of the build from scratch. I'm building the body myself, and using the PBG-N4RB as my neck. Its a Les Paul shape, but I'm just going with a flat top.

I've run into a snag, and need some advice from those smarter than me, as I can't seem to find a clear answer.

When routing my neck pocket, A) how deep should it be, and B) do I need to worry about the pocket angle or is it already present on the heel of the neck?

Sorry if these are dumb questions. Like I said, I'm new to this and kinda learning as I go.

Appreciate the help and thank you in advance!

Hi and welcome.

For others reading this, this is a LP-style 24-fret bolt on neck. N4RB neck page

I can't say definitively, but almost all bolt-on necks have the bottom of the heel parallel to the fretboard. The LP1S was the LP-style kit that had a bolt-on neck and there are a couple shown in this gallery (though there are also some LP1-SS set neck kits in the wrong place there) https://www.buildyourownguitar.com.a...ead.php?t=2234. From what I can see. it doesn't look like theres an angle. As a result, you'll see that the fretboard sits a few mm higher above the body ant the join than the set necks do. The set necks are angled, and the neck binding sits just clear of the pocket, whereas on the bolt-ons, there is a noticeable gap, as the neck sits higher to achieve the required string clearance for the bridge and the pickups that way.

Pit Bull haven't sold that style of complete kit for a few years now, so there are very few people around who may have got one who are still active here and can say definitely, though if you email Pit Bull they should be able to check and respond quickly.