Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: TL-1HA First Build

TL-1HA First Build

TL-1HA

I've always wanted a Tele Deluxe type guitar. Looking to do a dark stain body with hardware upgrades.

This is my first time building a guitar so I'm going to take this build slow and double, triple check everything which in turn will lead to many questions on here (probably at every stage!).

Question before I start. When doing the mock build do I commit to the final positions of everything (bridge, neck, pickguard etc) & drill holes? or am I just marking it up at this stage & drilling later in the build?

Cheers

2. Liked by: RagingBull

Hi and welcome to the forum.

The mock build is really just a check that you have everything you need and that the parts fit where they should.
    Nothing is committed at this stage.
    Things to check for are,
    Does the neck fit cleanly?
    Does the pick guard fit correctly? Gaps around the neck equal etc.
    Do the pickups fit the routing or does it need adjusting?
    Are the holes for the wiring all there? (Earth wire for the bridge etc)
    Does the body need any reshaping or remedial work?
    Do you understand how it fits and what you want?
    Now that you are looking at the guitar, are there any upgrades you want to do?

There are mixed views on whether you should drill before you apply the finish or after (I prefer after).

In fact as the build progresses you will probably do multiple 'mock builds' so take your time.
    As always, if you are in any doubt, ask the question ....... we all do!

Good luck.
    Cheers
    Ricky