Thread: truss rod floats?

truss rod floats?

Hello everyone I recently bought a kit from pitbull, its the AGM-3Q I believe.. its an SG style with 3 hum buckers. Anyway I've been moving along and everything is coming out allot better than I expected as I am new to this but I just started painting and staining the neck and after everything dried I picked the neck up and flipped it over and I heard a noise so I shook it a bit and realized that the truss rod is floating around in there.. is this normal? if not is it fixable from a beginner stand point? thank you so much for your time and I really hope its nothing too bad.. thanks again.

Overlord of Music Sonic Mountain's Avatar
    It’s not really a problem. Once it has a bit of tension on it, it will hold itself in place.

Have youtried tightening it at the truss rod nut?
    TTBOMK most if not all PB necks are two-way adjustment, meaning it can create either a convex or concave bow via the rod.

With a 2-way there is a spot in the middle (sort of neutral) where it's not applying tension in either direction.
    Try giving the truss rod nut an 1/8 of a turn (in either direction) and see if the rattle goes away.
    It may just be in between at the moment.
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...

Quote Originally Posted by McCreed View Post
    Have youtried tightening it at the truss rod nut?
    TTBOMK most if not all PB necks are two-way adjustment, meaning it can create either a convex or concave bow via the rod.

With a 2-way there is a spot in the middle (sort of neutral) where it's not applying tension in either direction.
    Try giving the truss rod nut an 1/8 of a turn (in either direction) and see if the rattle goes away.
    It may just be in between at the moment.