Thread: First Guitar Build - EXM-1 Explorer

First Guitar Build - EXM-1 Explorer

Hi all,

So I've just got my first guitar kit, EXM-1 by Pitbull Guitars, turned up over a week early

As advised I've decided to make my own thread in the build diary.

So background for me...
    I'm a musician in the UK so, super impressed by the delivery speed still.
    My main is bass guitar and I own several already including a custom builds so can't justify making a bass which will never be as good. Current brands are Fender, Sandburg, ESP, Tokai.

My guitar department however is rather lacking so I've decided to make the plunge and build my own. Terrifying right!
    Currently I have a slightly upgraded squire strat...

So in terms of build experience this is my first complete build and I'm looking forward to it, I've never had the time, but always wanted to!!
    I do have a lot of experience with repairs and electrics and used to be a school technician so plenty of guitar setups and have done a few repaints but nothing on this scale.

Decided to go for the Explorer after a love of the limited edition run of Tribal Explorers Gibson did a few year back.
    This one is going to be vivid orange though because why not?

The kit has just got here in great condition and I am currently doing a mock build (photos to follow). The quality looks incredible and the neck fit is perfect. Got a few days of sanding and priming planned before setting up a spray booth in the garage.

If this all goes well one day I'm hoping to build a cobain style Jaguar with dual humbuckers but with some crazy paint job and kill switch, one step at a time though...

Right wish me luck

J.

Hi Jack and welcome!