Thread: Shielding

Shielding

Hey all,

I ordered my first kit (a GTL-1) and have just finished the painting process. I'm about to start the wiring but was wondering if the shielding tape should be put in before or after the wires are soldered?

This is my first build and I know it's not going to come out perfect but it has proven to be a great lockdown project. Any tips on the best copper shielding methods for a newbie would be much appreciated.

Cheers

And if the shielding tape goes first, how do feed the wires through? Sorry I know this sounds dumb but I don't want to make a preventable mistake and screw up my whole build lol

It's easier to apply it after painting/finishing and before you install any wiring/pickups etc.

Cover the inside of the cavities and the underside of the pickguard. On a Tele, you'll need to run some grounding wire from the main control cavity to the neck pickup rout. I normally just copper tape the ends down.

You just make holes in the copper tape to push the wires through. You can't help it, but try and keep any holes as small as possible. Run the copper tape for the neck pickup rout over the edge on to the top, so that it can make contact with the tape on the underside of the pickguard. Run the copper tape for the control cavity up over the edge on the two ends of the cavity so that it makes contact with the metal control plate (but cut it so that it's all hidden by the control plate.

Run the copper tape up over the front and rear edges of the bridge pickup rout so that it makes contact with the bridge plate. You'll be running a ground wire for the bridge, so the bridge will ground the pickup cavity copper. Or you can run a ground wire from the control cavity to the bridge pickup cavity, copper tape it down, and let the copper ground the bridge.