Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: DAW opinions/advice

DAW opinions/advice

I just got a Focusrite Scarlett Solo.

The Solo comes with a software bundle that includes Pro Tools First and Abelton Live Lite.

I've installed the PTF, but am encountering some behavioural issues (like jumpy grabber tool). I went for PTF because PT is supposed to be the shizzle when it comes to DAW, however I'm thinking it may be way more than I need (I've been using a Zoom R8 with Audacity for the past 6 years).
    Apart from the jumpy grabber, it seems to be pretty slow as well, despite the system usage showing very low percentage. My HP-15 LT meets the minimum system requirements, but probably could be better.

So my question is about ditching PTF for Ableton Live Lite (free) or possibly buying Reaper for $60 US.
    It seems PT(F) will be quite a steep learning curve too. Whilst some of it is reasonably intuitive, there appear to be lots of layers to peel through. The other thing I don't like with PTF, is you have to be logged in online with Avid Link to use it.

Any of you guys using Ableton LL or Reaper that can shed some light or share some thoughts?
    I'm not looking start a record label or be the next George Martin, I just want to make the best demos I can with my limited engineering skills.

TIA,
    Mick
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...

Overlord of Music Sonic Mountain's Avatar