Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hi from Parkes NSW

Cool Hi from Parkes NSW

Thanks for the add... I'm a retired electronics engineer and not much of a musician, but I love music + the art & science of sound. I cut my teeth with valve radios and amplifiers in 1970, at age 12 and find myself at home with boxes of valves & bits. Building two custom valve amps and valve fuzz/reverb for my son and niece, who are musically passionate and more gifted than me. I do have an old Epiphone guitar as part of my lab gear and for visitors to blast through ancien KT66's.

Lots of good info here on these forums and I can smell the passion.
    Erik Lensson, SMIEEE
    Honorary Research Fellow, CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science
    PO Box 422
    PARKES NSW 2870
    Australia
    +61 409 442 597

"... and thirdly, you must not care whether you live or die ..."

Welcome Aelrik.

If you're going to be building a guitar, there will be lots of helpful people here for you get through it, and with your background I'm sure you'll have equally valuable information to share for many of us!

Only caveat, is leave your Elvis costume at the door! (just kidding!)
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...

Welcome to a fellow CSIRO person. I spent a year seconded to CASS working on image processing software for ASKAP. I learnt a lot, mostly that radio astronomy is hard!

Definitely lots of passionate and helpful people around here.
    Mantra: No more pedals, must finish BlueyCaster...
    Disclaimer: I haven't done woodwork since high school, and wasn't really paying attention at the time ...

Quote Originally Posted by McCreed View Post
    Welcome Aelrik.

If you're going to be building a guitar, there will be lots of helpful people here for you get through it, and with your background I'm sure you'll have equally valuable information to share for many of us!

Only caveat, is leave your Elvis costume at the door! (just kidding!)