Thread: First Build, ATL-1SB

First Build, ATL-1SB

Hello internet,

I've started my first build on a gorgeous spalted maple thinline tele. The kit is absolutely beautiful and I've had such a good time so far! I bought it in anticipation of being told to stay home, and managed to get a few things I'd need before society started shutting down. I'm also a teacher, so my two week break starts next week and I'll be pouring many hours into the guitar. I also haven't done much woodworking ever, so this is a whole new adventure for me.

A few things:
    1. My plan is to dye the guitar blue, and then use a gold Rub'nbuff wax to fill the wood grains. I'll use teak oil to pull of the excess wax, then tung oil to finish/seal the whole thing. I am quite confident this will look incredible on the sides/back due to the open grained ash, but am less convinced on the front with the veneer. Will the effect still work on the maple veneer?

2. I've spent about 8 hours sanding so far, and have told myself at the end of each hour that it isn't enough so that I follow the advice that is everywhere on the forum. The back and sides are now much smoother than when I got it, which is quite pleasing. The veneer is super thin so I haven't sanded the front at all, but it is quite rough. Is there any way I can make the front smoother without saying goodbye to the veneer? Or will this happen naturally when I finish the guitar with tung oil?