Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Newbie ---

Newbie ---

Greetings from Portugal,

I have two kits to build (at least try), EX-1M and DTL-1. The first one is for a friend, and the second one is for me.
    I have no experience on building instruments or wood working.

I've watched tons of videos and read lots of stuff... but when the kits arrived, I sh***** my self.... sorry for bad language -.- ....

Don't know where to start...

Help???

Thank you all!!!!!

Hey mate, welcome!
    Have a look at the materials, manuals on pitbullguitars.com, they will provide you a step by step process.

But a good beginning would be a mock up build, see if everything is there en fits. And maybe you'd like to give the wood some time to settle into your climate.

How are you going to finish the guitars?

Have fun

Rolf

Olá e bem-vindo rmjc!
    Making the world a better place; one guitar at a time...

Hi Mate,

For my first build I was like you. Go slow be methodical and you will be okay

Good morning,

I've checked both packages and everything seems to be in order. I thought about RocknRolf suggestion, and left everything in their packages. For the wood settle, should I leave it inside the packages, or outside? For how long, and how do I know it is settled? I knew that the woods would be heavy, but they are much heavy than my Epi LP Std. Is it normal?

My friend wants a finish like this for his explorer...Click image for larger version. 

Name:	exp.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	133.4 KB 
ID:	33759

For mine, haven't decided... between a butterscotch, lake placid blue or burn it.

Regarding the finish issue, I live in an apartment, and my question is (didn't think about it before buying the kits), is there any way to achieve the finishes mentioned without damaging the house????

McCreed, are you Portuguese, or did you used a translator?

Last question

I've been reading the manual. At the "Fitting the Bridge/Tailpiece" topic: