PDA

View Full Version : String buzz

FCD
07-09-2019, 05:34 AM
Hi All,

I am looking for some advise on some string buzz, as I have limited experience with guitar I wanted to check my though process. I installed an after market nut on my TLA-1 and when I play the open E string I get a buzzing noise. This only happens when I play the string with any force.

I believe the issue may be that due to the nut height the string hits the wood behind the nut on the way to the tuning peg. I did not take any material of the nut when installing it. I get no buzz when I fret any other place on the neck and play a note. I also have no other issues with any other strings buzzing when being played open or fretted (none of these touch the wood behind the nut).

Would like to get some thoughts about this. Do you think this is cause of the issue? What are my options? Change out to a new nut seems like the logical step. Only thought is I didn’t alter the graph tech nut is a bone one higher?

McCreed
07-09-2019, 07:09 AM
That would be my first suspicion. The source of string buzz can be an elusive thing sometimes. Lots of weird things can happen.
For example a problem at the nut can sound like it's coming from the bridge (unwound G strings are notorious for this) and what happens above the nut is as important as what happens below the nut when it comes to string vibration.

Without seeing the whole guitar, my inclination is that the string slot in the nut or the entire nut could be too low. However it could just be the angle or depth which the low E slot is cut.
What is the string action at the first fret on the low E when depressed at the third fret?
If the depressed string is touching the first fret, the action is too low(ie: slot or nut too low).

It would be a good idea to check each of the strings in the manner while you're at it. FWIW, I set the nut action at .008" E/A; .006" D/G;.004" B/E. These are just a guide - each guitar may vary depending other factors. (a holistic approach)