PDA

View Full Version : Neck height

Harpoon
04-02-2019, 12:46 AM
I´ve been searching for this info with no luck.
I´m confused with the height of the neck sitting in the pocket, is this ok, or not to high? and the angle?

It seems to me that it´s high, the pick up is far away from the strings.
https://i.imgur.com/iOJ68do.jpg

TZK321
04-02-2019, 07:31 AM
It looks fine to me but I'm a novice. Can't you raise the pickups by turning the screws in the plate?

Sonic Mountain
04-02-2019, 08:41 AM
Yes, looks pretty normal for the kits. If it has a TOM style bridge then yes you want a break angle away from the body, so that looks about right as well. As TZK321 said, pickup height can be adjusted.

People have successfully lowered the neck into the pocket on various kits - it does make them seem a bit more 'factory' but it isn't totally necessary usually. If this is your first build I'd just leave it, unless you are already handy with a router.

Harpoon
08-02-2019, 12:39 AM
Thanks for the reply guys,
to be honest, the fret board sticking out like that makes me want to fix it, but I´m not sure if I have the skills/knowledge to do it!
Is it easier to mess with the neck or the pocket?

BTW, I love your signature Sonic Mountain! :D

Dedman
08-02-2019, 04:59 AM
don't forget if you move the neck down the action will be a mile high unless you can lower the bridge as well or increase the break angle

Sonic Mountain
08-02-2019, 06:10 AM
Thanks for the reply guys,
to be honest, the fret board sticking out like that makes me want to fix it, but I´m not sure if I have the skills/knowledge to do it!
Is it easier to mess with the neck or the pocket?

BTW, I love your signature Sonic Mountain! :D

Hah, applies to a wide range of activities in my life.