PDA

View Full Version : Where to drill holes for bigsby?

JamesB606
01-12-2018, 11:47 AM
Howdy folks,
just finishing up the stain on my tele kit.
Now, I'm a little confused as to WHERE I should be putting the bigsby on the guitar.
There doesn't seem to be any pre made holes and I am a complete novice.

For a bit of context I'm planning on making this a baritone guitar, so if thats going to affect the positioning let me know what to do

You can see the build/guitar here and some photos of the kit as well as what I've done so far

http://www.buildyourownguitar.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=8982

JamesB606
01-12-2018, 12:09 PM
oh also, generally is it best to drill everything and then finish or the other way around?

Andy40
01-12-2018, 03:42 PM
Can't help with bigsby as i've not done one, but generally I do all modifications before the finish, so if you muff it up, you can hide the muff ups.

Fretworn
01-12-2018, 03:42 PM
How are you finishing the guitar? This can affect the answer to whether you drill the hole before or after.

JohnH
01-12-2018, 04:21 PM
I also can't help with the Bigsby, but can say I have drilled holes before and after finishing and was a hell of a lot less stressed when I did it beforehand. I've heard that water based stains can get into drill holes and make them swell up, so the type of finish probably makes a difference.

JamesB606
01-12-2018, 04:59 PM
How are you finishing the guitar? This can affect the answer to whether you drill the hole before or after.

dingo tone

Dedman
01-12-2018, 08:11 PM
take a look at other Tele's with bigsby's. Basically find and mark a centre line on the body ( put some tape down and mark the tape rather than the body) Measure and mark the centre of the bigsby and line it up. I found stringing it up with cotton string or fishing line allowed me to check that the strings ran straight to the bridge. As to how far back they usually go as far back as possible without hanging off.

Simon Barden
01-12-2018, 08:55 PM