PDA

View Full Version : The Graphics Help Thread

Sonic Mountain
02-11-2018, 07:23 AM
I've been tossing up starting one of these for a little while, the lack of head stock logos in last months GOTM comp convinced me its a good idea.

So as most of the regulars probably know by now my day job is graphic design. Signage in particular. As such I've had a lot of experience coming up with logos etc. I think it's one of the more fun aspects of building your own guitar, but I realise not everyone has access to the software and experience to do something at a professional level.

So what I'm proposing here is a free service to knock up head stock logo designs and possibly some concept work to help people out. I would do them as my time allowed obviously, they are pretty fun and straight forward - so long as you don't get too picky and difficult about it :).

I'm also thinking other people who have the gear and want to help out are welcome to offer their services to the community here as well.

I would provide a printable, vector based, file to you in PDF form via email. I've done this a couple of times previously and I generally do a page of logos in slightly varying sizes so you can work out the best fit.

There are a number of ways to get the design onto your head stock - water slide decal is the most common. There are lots of places online you can order the paper from and print it out at home. Alternatively you can get the design cut out of vinyl. Most sign shops will do this and at these sizes it will be pretty cheap. I may also be able to organise this through my work and have them sent to you - there would be a cost involved in this production.

There is also a thread here somewhere that Adam discusses offering a printing service through Pitbull - I'm not sure if that is off the ground yet - but I offered to help out in that thread as well.

If you want to do it via PM that's fine, but it would also be good if it were public so people can see the process and results.