PDA

View Full Version : Neck doesn't 100% fit, what to do?

JamesB606
12-10-2018, 09:07 PM
Hey all,
just got the kit and opened it up.
Wanted to do a mock build and realised the neck is very tight. This kit is the TL-1TB kit but I asked Pitbull guitars to swap the standard neck for a 27" to make a baritone guitar.
I think with some force it will go in, but i'm hesitant to try this incase i damage the neck/socket.

Should the neck slide in easily or should there be some resistance?
If I need to adjust the heel/socket how do I go about this?

I'm a complete novice so the more detail/advice the better!

P.S. I asked for a 27" scale length as I want to make this guitar a baritone (again I'm a complete novice so no idea either way) but the neck seemed smaller than I expected so I measured it and the length from the nut to the end was about 19" or 490mm. Is this right? Figured I should ask now and check before commencing anything.

Added some pics.

Dedman
12-10-2018, 09:17 PM
Scale is measured from the nut to the 12th fret,the distance from the 12 th fret to the bridge should be the same.
Neck fit should be snug but don't force it. You may need to sand slightly. I haven't had any experience with the baritone necks yet so I'm unsure if this is typical.

JamesB606
12-10-2018, 09:31 PM
thankyou for letting me know, now i know!

Whats the best way to sand it? any resources I should look at?
I read the instruction book but I found it hard to understand because of the lack of pictures/videos.
Reading it is one thing but it would be good to see someone do it so I can have a visual reference.

chrissyinbkk
12-10-2018, 10:37 PM
might want to leave it a few days to settle in.... difference in humidity etc....

Dedman
13-10-2018, 08:00 AM
thankyou for letting me know, now i know!

Whats the best way to sand it? any resources I should look at?
I read the instruction book but I found it hard to understand because of the lack of pictures/videos.