PDA

View Full Version : Scale length terminology

BurtonBacker
12-01-2018, 03:42 PM
Would like to know what the "nut" is to measurw from... is it the one at the top of the fret board (truss rod) or am i completely missing the translation... this is my first build i have an RCA 4 kit so any help would be appreciated.

Simon Barden
12-01-2018, 03:52 PM
Hi and welcome.

The nut is the piece of plastic (in this instance) at the headstock end of the neck with the notches in that the strings sit in.

The flat side facing the fretboard is the face to measure from when checking scale length. The scale length is defined as twice the distance from the nut to the middle/crown of the 12th fret. So if this distance is 17", the scale length = 2 x 17" = 34".

Because of the way strings vibrate, there is a small 'dead' section at each end of the string that doesn't vibrate, and the thicker the string, the longer this section is. This is why the distance from the nut to the saddles with the guitar fully intonated, will always be a bit longer than the nominal scale length, and why the bottom E saddle will be further away from the nut than the G string saddle will be.

BurtonBacker
13-01-2018, 03:54 AM
Thank you very much... extreamly helpful :)

Tim Stahlmann
24-02-2019, 02:49 PM
Hi Simon. I am a first time builder as well doing a PB1 kit. When I measure from the middle of the nut to the middle of the 12th fret I get a measurement 433mm. A little longer than 431.8 that others have. When placing my bridge do I then measure 433mm from the 12th fret to the bridge saddle? Also is there a particular string saddle that works best as the low E and A strings have shorter intonation screws.

Cheers for you help.

Tim

Simon Barden
25-02-2019, 02:00 AM
Hi Tim. Most of your question has been answered in the other post you made.