PDA

View Full Version : Sunn O))) inspired distortion

JohnH
27-09-2017, 07:13 PM
In my random pedal-googling I came across this distortion circuit, and thought I'd see if I could build it:

http://www.taydakits.com/instructions/sunn-o-distortion

I'm a bit of a noob, and of course this circuit isn't very well supported (no real instructions, slightly confusing circuit diagram, no schematic, no PCB to purchase). I put the diagram and PCB layout in photoshop so I could see where the connections actually were, and came up with this:

Anyway, I fiddled around for awhile (I'm embarrassed to say for how long...) and finally got it to work on a breadboard

It actually sounds pretty good. Better than the other circuit I breadboarded last week. I didn't have electrolytic caps in most of the values it required, so used ceramic caps instead. I don't know if this makes a difference?

From what I understand a pot between pins 1 and 8 of the first IC gives you control over the gain, right? I might stick one in tomorrow arvo and see what happens, and then I'll try to solder it to some veroboard and box it up.

Marcel
27-09-2017, 09:39 PM
Half the battle is making it work in the first place... so regardless of the time you spent you are doing well...

Using other caps shouldn't make much difference so long as the uF value is the same or very close. What will change is the tonal curve. You probably won't notice any difference when it is by itself, but when put up back to back with a correctly made one you will be able to say it has more of "this" or less of "that"... and if you like it the way it is then ... well you know....