PDA

View Full Version : How to etch a PCB using blue press and peel film from Jaycar Electronics.

DrNomis_44
23-04-2017, 08:39 AM
Hi Everyone,

Thought I would start a thread on this topic, since I have had some experience with it, anyway, most people getting into building DIY pedals will, at some stage, want to have a go at making, or etching, a proper PCB, or Printed Circuit Board for their DIY pedal builds.

So, for starters, what is a Printed Circuit Board and why do we need them?, a Printed Circuit Board consists of an insulating material which has had a thin sheet of copper foil glued to one or both sides of it, the insulating material can be made from phenolic (a mixture of phenolic-resin and paper pressed together under high pressure), fibreglass, or even ceramic, in the early days of printed circuit boards Bakelite was even used too, the thin sheet of copper foil glued to one or both sides of the insulating material, in the case of double-sided PCBs, is just copper that has been flattened out so it's very thin, about the same thickness as aluminium kitchen foil, copper is used for two reasons, firstly it exhibits relatively low resistance to electricity, secondly it can be easily soldered to.

The copper foil is used to form the electrical wires that join electronic parts together to form an electronic circuit, this is done by using a special chemical, called an etchant, to dissolve, or etch-away the unwanted parts of the copper, the wanted parts of the copper are protected from the etchant by coating them with another special chemical, called a resist because it resists the the chemical etching of the etchant, there are two main chemicals used as an etchant, one is called ferric chloride, the other is called ammonium persulphate, personally, I prefer to use ammonium persulphate since it is less messy and easier to deal with than ferric chloride, both etchants produce about the same results.