PDA

View Full Version : LP wiring issues - no sound

Kim
14-12-2016, 08:40 AM
Hope some one can direct me cause I'm not sure where to start. Got my LP finished up and plugged it into the amp and no sound:(. This is my first build. I followed the wiring directions in the videos to the "t". Not sure where I should even start looking for the problem. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Kim

wokkaboy
14-12-2016, 08:58 AM
Hi Kim,
firstly can you please post some close up photo's of the control cavity might give us some clues. Have you run an earth wire from the bridge bush to a common earth point on the back of a pot ? Have you copper shielded the control cavity and if not earthed all 4 pots ? Have you checked the most common problem is mixing up the hot and earth wire on the jack ? Also the switch should be earthed too. Also check that all your solder joins look ok.
EDIT also if you have copper shielded the control cavity a lug of a pot may be touching the copper and short the circuit so get a flat small flat screwdriver and make sure the lugs aren't making contact with the copper or the adjacent lug if solder is joining them

WeirdBits
14-12-2016, 05:00 PM
So, no sound at all in any switch position? Is there any hum or scratchiness when you touch any metal or turn the pots? No sound in any position would suggest either a problem with the switch or maybe a hot short at the jack. Partial sound expands the possible causes. As Wokks stated, photos of the wiring and cavities will help us work theough the problem with you.

Simon Barden
14-12-2016, 05:27 PM
All the basics sorted first?

Amp on and out of standby (if valve)?
Tested the guitar lead with another guitar first?
Amp buzzes when you short out the jack tip and ring with your fingers?
Guitar lead fully inserted into the jack (had this happen a few times to me).
Volume and tone knobs turned up (again, I've done this myself)?