PDA

View Full Version : EX-7 - 7 String Explorer

Slayer666
21-11-2016, 09:06 AM
Hey folks,

Thought I would post my thoughts on the EX-7 - 7 String Explorer (transparent honey) I purchased recently.

Overall I am happy with the quality of this axe, the finish is excellent and is well constructed.

It came pretty well set-up - I did need to change the strings to a heavier gauge as the stock strings were far to lose for a 7 string especially if you like to down tune. It plays well and stays in tune which is awesome.

For $300, it's an awesome looking guitar and given I am new to 7 strings this was a great purchase. I will look at upgrading at least the bridge pickup at some stage.

Cheers Adam!

wokkaboy
21-11-2016, 09:38 AM
good one Slayer glad you are happy with the EX-7. You should have a crack at building a kit next !

Raz
21-11-2016, 10:43 PM
Thanks for posting this. I actually just ordered an EX-7 (satin black). Should be mailed out today.
Are there any mods you think you're going to do to it?
Any more detailed info for a review? Weight, how solid it feels, things it's definitely going to need over than the bridge pup (i.e, tuners, bone nut, etc). Overall sound?
Also: What pickups are you looking at putting in?

I'll be monitoring this thread closely and making one of my own *hopefully* soon. haha.

Slayer666
23-11-2016, 03:01 PM
good one Slayer glad you are happy with the EX-7. You should have a crack at building a kit next !

Hey wokka, I have a PRS kit waiting for me to pull my finger out, I actually bought it months ago before the 7 String... need some dedicated time. Can't wait to start.

wokkaboy
23-11-2016, 03:03 PM
sounds good Slayer, I think you will really enjoy building a kit and be warned it is 'slightly' addictive hahah

Slayer666
23-11-2016, 03:09 PM
Thanks for posting this. I actually just ordered an EX-7 (satin black). Should be mailed out today.
Are there any mods you think you're going to do to it?