PDA

View Full Version : New starter from UK

Alan
10-08-2016, 12:00 AM
Hi Everyone

I am a complete beginner in everything - new to Pitbull, new to guitar building kits, even new to forums, so who knows what's going to happen ! So will be looking for help and advice from you all with everything !
Just bought a RCA-4 kit and looking forward to getting started - read the stuff re sanding and sanding and sanding, looking ahead got a quick question, what do you do with the banding once you start with the stain, does it need to be masked or does it clean off afterwards.

Cheers
Alan

Dedman
10-08-2016, 08:47 AM
firstly welcome to your new obsession!
I'm just doing my first kit with binding, although you can scrape/sand it clean later, it makes for less work later if you mask it.

Fretworn
11-08-2016, 11:00 AM
The conventional wisdom around here (ie Dingobass's way) is to polish the binding first (with 0000 steel wool) so it has no tooth for the stain to get into the binding. It then it usually fairly easy to sand/polish off any stain that gets on the binding.

UpperCaseH
11-08-2016, 05:10 PM
Hi Alan,

I'm half way through my first kit, and my knowledge of what to do was basically zero when I started. It's been a fun learning experience though, and it's been great to be able to ask questions here and have them answered by so many people.

What I did with the binding was to mask it, but I didn't polish it first as several people recommended. A fair bit of stain got under the masking tape, and looked pretty messy.

I ended up scraping it with a adjustable blade stanley knife, and using the BACK of an x-acto knife blade to scrape the small areas that weren't coming off with the bigger knife. Took lots of patience, but it came out OK. On future builds, I would definitely try something else (like polishing the binding first) to try to avoid the amount of careful fiddly work I ended up having to do with scraping.

Alan
12-08-2016, 03:17 AM