PDA

View Full Version : Fretless conversion?

UpperCaseH
27-07-2016, 08:10 AM
I've all but decided that I want to try building a fretless bass. I want to use the JBA-4 and do the conversion myself. I've never done anything like this before (haven't even finished building my first fretted kit), so I thought I'd ask some questions.

So...

I'll need something to pull the frets with. I guess I can probably get a fret puller on ebay. What about just using side cutters? I've read and seen both "you need to heat the frets" and "you don't need to heat the frets". How would I tell which of these things I need to do?

Filling the fret holes (cavities? lines?). Looks like using veneer is the generally accepted way to do it. I've also seen people using epoxy (don't really want to) and superglue + sawdust (sounds interesting, but I can't find any tutorials online that show me the baby steps I'd need). Why wouldn't you just use a wood filler? I'm sure there's a reason, but I don't know what it is.

Let's assume I'll go with veneer. Anyone know of a place in Melbourne where I could buy appropriate (maybe maple) veneer in person? Alternatively, what thickness would I need if I was ordering online? I'll obviously need a radius sanding block. Can anyone tell me which size I'd need for the JBA4? Is there an Aussie supplier (I prefer to buy from a local if I can) or do I order one from stewmac? Realparts doesn't seem to have one.

Finishing! I have no idea, apart from that I don't really want to mess around with epoxy if I can help it. Again, I've seen "use superglue", but how? What other alternative finishes are there? If it's sanded flat, can it just be waxed or oiled like a regular fretboard, or is there something special about the fretlessness that means it needs a different kind of finish?

I'd also need to file down the nut, right? I'll probably order a bone one for this build. Just sand the bottom of it until it's the right height? Or is there a bone-specific method?