PDA

View Full Version : Ex-5

wazkelly
28-02-2016, 11:02 AM
http://www.buildyourownguitar.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=4257&page=10&p=98020#post98020

marshi
16-07-2016, 02:14 PM
Hi all

This is my Five String Explorer Bass. It's my first attempt at a Pit Bull Kit. I built the Bass fairly much as it came but replaced the bridge with a Schaller bridge to give a little extra adjustment. Apart from that, I modifed the control cavity to realign the volume control to be parallel with the body line and removed the tone control altogether after dowling the hole. The body is painted black with a pinstripe binding and then finished with a gloss clear coat. Maybe real binding on the next one. The neck was finished with Dingotone Clear neck finish. I have to say, I love the Dingotone finishes and I am currently using both neck and body finishes on an SV-1 guitar. I hope you like my new toy.

METAL Rulez 4ever
09-02-2017, 10:15 PM
Finally finished my Explorer Bass Build. Took sometime getting in the parts for my modifications and getting the action right with the extra height on the bridge, but got there with the help of shims ! Really pleased with the result !

Roman_Dark
14-04-2019, 10:25 PM
Finally finished this kit. It was my first time to build this kind of kit. I used a wood filler with black acrylic paint then mahogany stain then true-oil. I misplaced the bridge and had to adjust it later. Surprisingly the frets were perfect from the box. I needed only to work on sharp edges.

marshi
20-04-2019, 07:02 AM
Great bass, well done. Can you load a few more photos?

TOPSCRATCH
19-06-2019, 05:10 AM