PDA

View Full Version : Scatter-Winding in Pickups.

DrNomis_44
11-02-2016, 01:34 PM
Hi everyone, thought I would start a thread on this topic.

Here's my take on Scatter-Winding in guitar pickups, I've been dabbling in electronics since I was 13 years old so I have some background in it, anyway, so basically what is a pickup?, a pickup is typically a number of turns of very fine enameled-copper wire wound on a former, or bobbin, with a magnetic metal core, in electronics a component that consists of a number of turns of wire around a metal core is called an Inductor, a typical example is an Iron-Cored Choke as used in Guitar Amplifiers, I won't go into the theory behind how Inductors work, or why they are called Inductors because the mathematics is a bit complex.