PDA

View Full Version : General neck setup questions...

Plainfaced
14-12-2015, 05:44 PM
Hi there.. Hope I've found my way to the right forum.

Looking at building my first kit guitar.. I live in Sydney and after some searching it looks like PITBULL is the way to go...

Now, I'm not a total novice when it comes to handling tools.. And I'm not too bad with a soldering iron.. But something about a kit build scares me... Setting the neck and levelling frets..

Questions.
1. Is it worth paying the extra few dollars and getting the neck setup? Does this include fret levelling? Apart from giving the neck a nice sand and polish, I'm not too confident in touching the fretboard.
2. Are bolt on necks easier to set? I've heard some horror stories of people not setting the neck. If it's a bolt on, is there not pre-drilled holes and shouldn't it just fit?

Kit I'm looking at is the JK-1
https://www.pitbullguitars.com/shop/guitars/pit-bull-guitars-jr-1-electric-guitar-kit/#

Thanks in advance..
Again, I'm really keen to get my hands dirty giving the guitar a nice finish, wiring up and installing hardware... It's just that neck scares the hell out of me..

wokkaboy
14-12-2015, 05:52 PM
Hi Plainfaced, welcome to the forum.
If the neck setup scares you then a neck setup by Dingobass is the way to go. You can learn to do it yourself but you will need to spend about $120-$200+ on tools. You will need a 12' radius sanding block, sandpaper, fret rocker, fret crowning tool, a fret ruler is handy to get the neck flat before you level it. Stewmac has a fret levelling kit with the tools required.
Pretty sure a neck setup by DB would include a fret level.
Question 2, bolt on necks are easier as you can easily remove the neck easily and add shims if required. Once you have built a couple of kits then no problem try a set neck kit.
When you order the kit if you go for the fret level organise it when you order it so DB can setup and then send the kit to you in Sydney.