PDA

View Full Version : Dyes / Stains for wood, how narrow a field of choice is it?

Tweaky
07-10-2015, 11:08 PM
I'm new to this field, but like most things I get interested in, I like to read up on a topic before I ask a question.

I think I've read up enough to ask this one.

When it comes to Dyes/ stains, they seem to be pretty much the same, either, Alcohol, Oil or Water based.

The major difference [As I understand it - please correct me if I am wrong] is basically the best practise regarding application...and drying time before re-coat, depending on what sort of effect you are trying to achieve.

Also the type of pigment used in the dye/stain used, which I suspect would mainly effect it's colour fastness [how long before any particular colour fades - some fade quicker than others]

Now my question.

What differentiates WATER BASED wood dyes / stains, in liquid form [which is how most are purchased] from a pure Artist's level undiluted watercolour paint, diluted to the same level as a Dye/stain, and used in the same manner?

Is it a matter of particle size of the pigment?

I'm unsure as to the difference , if any, regarding how well water colour pigment would be absorbed by wood.

I know the lightfastness of Windsor & Newton Artist level Watercolours are rated in the hundreds of years,[except 2 or 3 , Yellows and Pink]
The colour range is HUGE, they are all easy to be dissolved in water...just add more pigment for the desired intensity.....easy to mix to a unobtainable premixed colour/shade

I've seen people using Fabric dyes, printer ink and God knows what else to dye/stain bare wood......

Is there any rules regarding dyes/ stains that need to be adhered to ?

Just wondering....I've got nearly every colour of Windsor & Newton Artist Water colour paints in tubes.......anybody tried this medium as a wood dye/stain?