PDA

View Full Version : Tim Gaze - Interview

Rabbitz
25-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Tim is, by far, the most inspirational guitarist I have ever worked for.

http://www.abc.net.au/local/videos/2015/08/21/4298010.htm

I worked with him in The Buswackers.

Amazing guitarist and a terrifically top bloke to boot.

BTW Tim is the guy in the Blue T-Shirt with the Maton.

Enjoy.

wokkaboy
25-08-2015, 03:59 PM
interesting video Rabbitz

what did you do/play in the Bushwackers ?

Rabbitz
25-08-2015, 04:05 PM
A mere guitar/instrument tech.

(oh and drank a helluva lot...)

wokkaboy
25-08-2015, 04:07 PM
thats pretty cool job Rabbitz,
so were you guitar tech on electric and acoustic guitars ?
what's the hardest job you had to do ?

Rabbitz
25-08-2015, 04:24 PM
I was a staging tech on all the instruments. (Obviously not drums as they aren't instruments :) ).

Hardest? Hard to say. Lug in at the Maroubra Seals Club - 3 flight of a stairs. Actually lugging Chisel out of the Seals. French's Tavern in Oxford St. was a pain.

Waking up in the back of a PA truck after (yet another) RSL club gig, and not having ANY idea what town we were in. About then I did reconsider what exactly I was doing with my life.

Oddest tech job was tuning a tin whistle...

Rabbitz
25-08-2015, 04:28 PM
Ohh Ohh, changing a string on a Bass(!) mid-song while it was still being played.

Mike Smith was the bass player, "Pat Drummond's Skool Daze" was the band, maybe 1983 or 1984.

Got it done...

wokkaboy
25-08-2015, 04:29 PM
wow sounds like an interesting part of you your life. So you shouldn't have any trouble setting up and intonating your LP build !

Rabbitz
25-08-2015, 04:35 PM
It's almost there - just waiting for some el cheapo nut files to arrive from China. It is a smidge high.

Thought about knocking the nut out and shaving the base but given the amount of glue they used I am not keen on risking the new toy.

wokkaboy
25-08-2015, 04:47 PM
so you still got the plastic nut in place ?