PDA

View Full Version : Making the MMB-4 active???

Arzi
18-08-2015, 02:30 PM
Hi

Just ordered the MMB-4 kit to build during the winter and I'm thinking about maybe turning it to active with a 2-band preamp. Since I have no previous experience on the subject I'm hoping for honest opinions and also help on the wiring and choosing pots.As always I'm gonna keep this as budget as possible at this point and was gonna try a chinese cheap onboard preamp circuit. I can always change the bits later if I keep lacking something. I know I have to do some routing etc to fit these.

1. Can I gain anything by installing a preamp? At least MM has them onboard...

2. Is the stock pickup ok to use with a preamp? Anything I need to know about Ohms etc?

3. Any wiring diagrams to use with a 2-band and stock pickup?

4. If I wanna use this as passive for a change - can I achieve this somehow with a push-pull pot and does it "turn off" the preamp so that it would not consume the battery when I don't play?

5. Anything else that pops in mind that I would need to know - please enlighten me.

Thanks

Arzi

wokkaboy
18-08-2015, 02:45 PM
Arzi better wait for the resident wiring guru Weirdbits to answer your questions some curly ones there !
You don't muck around with your next build !
I installed a pre-amp in an IB-6S build and it sounds fantastic, even with the stock pups, the range of sounds you get with the active system far outweighs the passive system.
Usually if you leave the lead unplugged when not playing it the battery shouldn't drain.
There may be a way to turn it off but once you have played the active system you won't want to turn it off.
You will probably have to enlarge the control cavity at least for the battery and depending how high the cards are on the system may need to go deeper. Think the MMB-4 has a front pickguard so you will have to think about a rear battery compartment I'd say

Arzi
18-08-2015, 03:28 PM
Hi Woks