PDA

View Full Version : Picks - What's your preference?

pablopepper
21-07-2015, 08:44 AM
Stumbled upon this video a few days ago, and it got me thinking. I haven't really thought about the picks i've used for a heck of a long time, maybe there is something better out there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p84RxNcl2l4

I have been using the same picks (or similar variations) for well over 15 years now. My last major change was to move from celluloid to tortex. My current preference is Dunlop Gator Grips in .96mm.
http://www.jimdunlop.com/images/products/Gator96-11.png

So, I did some digging around and found a few different manufacturers of interesting new styles and materials. The few mentioned in the video above as well as Hufschmid, Winspear, StoneWorks to name a few, all making handmade picks! Crazy! And really expensive! I don't know about you, but I've always considered picks to be a bit of a disposable commodity. Buy them by the handful and don't worry when the go missing, but at $30 - $100 each...

Anyway, it got me thinking, what picks are you guys using? Anyone using anything unique?

pablopepper
21-07-2015, 08:52 AM
Another thing, over the next few days I'm going to have a go at making some thicker, acrylic picks (because I can, dammit). Depending on how they go, would anyone be interested in product testing one for me? Or does anyone have some suggestions as to what you like or don't like about commercially available plectrums.

KurtSlash123
21-07-2015, 09:04 AM
Hell yeah I'll product test for you, I personally love thicker picks, I can't stand those flimsy thin and stupid little picks. I'm currently using .73 claytons, not bad but could go thicker and more sturdy but there easy to find locally for me :P

Bass Guy
21-07-2015, 09:19 AM
I used to swear by the good ol' Dunlop Tortex .88mm picks- mainly because Metallica used them, and I was 16.