PDA

View Full Version : Any android sofware usable with external mic in recording band rehearsals?

Arzi
07-07-2015, 11:15 AM
Hi all,

Since I'm new to playing in a band I'm also a beginner in recording a band.

Anyway, as we wanna improve our performance we have to be able to listen to our selves playing from another perspective. So, we thought about buying a cheap recorder like Zoom for about 100-150€. Then I got to thinking - how about finding out if I could use my phone as a recorder with an external microphone? Our singer has a few mics to choose from and my Sony Z3 has the ability to record also in stereo (although Sony's only stereo mic for the use costs about 100€ - ouch). Mono is more than plenty for the purpose for the time being. Will need the proper adapters of course.

So - do you more experienced people have any tips and think if the idea would work? Thanks.

Arzi

kimball492
07-07-2015, 10:36 PM
This interface works with Android but it is made for guitars . I think you could plug your mics into a mixer then send to Aux in on the irig ua interface . There are problems with android devices having bad latency issues .What that means is the time you play a note on the guitar , the android device processes it then puts the sound out there's a delay. They are trying to over come this with a DSP chip that is built into the irig ua interface rather than using the DSP chip on the Android device. I have put link below might be worth sending ik multimedia an email asking about recording via mics. Not having used Android software or interfaces before
I'd check thoroughly with ik ref compatibility also ask them about recommended compatible recording software. Search for a member here called fatmunkey he has a Zoom R16 he loves to pieces might be just the thing your looking for.