PDA

View Full Version : More maple top 4-5 string bass kits?

Arzi
11-06-2015, 03:54 AM
Hi

Now that I've seen the awesome work done on some flamed maple guitar kits here, I would really want to try one out myself. It's too bad I play bass and not guitar. I'm not too fond of hollow body basses and would like a kit with bolt on neck and nicely figured maple top for the next project after RC-4 gets finished. The maple top could (or should) be more than 1mm thick - more forgiving for a sander just learning the ropes.

I was wondering if someone would have ideas on basses that would look good with maple tops? Wood surface shown as much as possible and less pickguard surface - control cavity in the back? And 4 -5 strings - as a beginner I have my hands full with four and don't need 6+. Could maybe use 5 in the future. Small hands or at least short fingers don't go well with a fretboard 4 inches wide...

So far I've found mostly 6+ string basses in my web search that have maple tops on them and almost all are custom made. So I figured if this would be one of those things where supply does not yet meet the demand?

If I can't get my hands on a nice maple top bass kit in the future, I'll most likely work on MMB-4 or JB kit next.

Has anyone made a custom order with some of these specs in the past?

Arzi

moody
11-06-2015, 04:05 AM
Gibson style bass maybe. Eb-3

I know there are les paul basses but their balance is fundamentally flawed.

stan
11-06-2015, 07:18 AM
shoot Adam email for a custom order, it might take some time, but you will get what you want I'm sure

Brendan
11-06-2015, 09:17 PM
Thunderbird - nuff said.

keloooe
11-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Thunderbird - nuff said.

Yes please!

GeneralKaos
12-06-2015, 08:28 AM
Thunderbird - nuff said.

Everybody has one of those.........

Sundragon
07-11-2015, 11:44 AM
The one thing I can't seem to find anywhere... a really good 5 string Jazz Bass kit!

wazkelly
07-11-2015, 06:04 PM