PDA

View Full Version : Whats your go to brand for waterbased powdered dye?

Clebby
04-06-2015, 10:40 AM
I'm looking to mix and match with the colours to get the right shades for my builds, and I like the idea of the powdered ones. Where would I be looking for something that's cheap but quality? I think the term is aniline dye, but I'm not an expert.

wokkaboy
04-06-2015, 10:57 AM
Hi Clebby,

I don't know anything about powder dyes, never used them. Dingobass might have some clues.

Might pay to do some research on the internet or wait to see if anyone else on the forum knows anything

Clebby
04-06-2015, 04:25 PM
Hi Clebby,

I don't know anything about powder dyes, never used them. Dingobass might have some clues.

Might pay to do some research on the internet or wait to see if anyone else on the forum knows anything

I'll definitely continue researching, but I'd hoped to get some advice from someone here.

wokkaboy
04-06-2015, 04:39 PM
Hey Clebby. hang tight its a large forum and some members may only get online every few days so someone may have used the powder dyes.
Have you priced or purchased them ? might pay to do some tests on scrap wood

Clebby
04-06-2015, 05:03 PM
Yeah I'm in no rush, happy to wait.

I've never purchased these or anything similar before, but I've been searching and found this site: http://www.ubeaut.com.au/dye.html
No idea if its powdered or not, doesn't give much info, but I'll keep searching. It's hard for me to price too, because I don't know what is and what isn't expensive :p

andrewdosborne
04-06-2015, 05:05 PM
Naughty warehouse stuff for sure but Dylon powder dyes can be used on wood.

Clebby
04-06-2015, 05:13 PM
Is it the hand dyes or machine dyes? And are they worth using would you say?

Nickosaurus
04-06-2015, 05:44 PM