PDA

View Full Version : Fretboard finish

Novice
16-02-2015, 12:11 PM
As you can tell from my username I am new to guitar building.
Question; I have a TLA-1 with a maple neck and am curious regarding what if any treatment should be applied to it.
Should I use oil or leave it as is.

Thanks in advance
Novice

wokkaboy
16-02-2015, 01:10 PM
Hi Novice,
if you want to keep the colour of the fingerboard light I'd order some Dingotone Guitar wax won't darken the look.
If you don't mind it being a bit darker I rag tung oil onto fingerboards

Brendan
16-02-2015, 05:39 PM
Most of the standard fretboard finishes should work well for maple - I've used Dr Ducks Axe Wax on my bass with a maple fretboard and while I've not hammered the guitar - I've also not had any issues with it. Really it comes down to personal preference - I'd go with something natural though and am hearing good things about Dingotone Wax.

Novice
16-02-2015, 06:56 PM
Thanks for the tips workaboy and Brendan.
My concerns with putting wax or oil on the fretboard was in case either would coat the strings on in fact allow dirt to accumulate easier
Will give the dingotone wax a go.
Cheers

Scott J.
23-02-2015, 08:12 PM
Hi Novice ... "Fretboard finishes" - a good topic to start a riot (sorry, "serious debate" :D) ... and I just cant help myself! bwahaha :D

WARNING! THE FOLLOWING OPINIONS MAY CAUSE DISAGREEMENT

Traditionally (i.e. in the 65 years of electric guitar construction), the choice of finishes was usually based on the type of timber ... maple fretboards got varnished (nitrocellulose) and rosewood/ebony fretboards were oiled ... which explains why all the old maple neck tele's and strats that you see often have grungy, grey-ed staining of the fretboard where the varnish has worn through to the bare timber and been stained by sweaty fingers, spilt beer, and screaming groupies, etc. :D