PDA

View Full Version : Hi from Perth

perthstocky
09-02-2015, 06:54 PM
Hi guys im just starting to learn guitar and i am keen to build a couple of pitbull kits.
I am a marine spraypainter so the finish on the guitars is no problem just a bit weary of my skill level of building a guitar ang getting it to actualy work..lol.The guitar i have always wanted is the SG style double neck.

Brendan
09-02-2015, 07:09 PM
Welcome along Stocky. Getting the guitar to work fine is not too hard - I last did woodwork 25+ years ago and I've been able to get a couple up and running. Start a build diary, work through the instructions (http://www.buildyourownguitar.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=1895) and take (and post) lots of photos. If you find yourself stuck, unsure or rushing, stop, go get a beverage of choice, post on the forum and wait a little bit. Will save a whole lot of pain redoing stuff later on.

perthstocky
09-02-2015, 07:34 PM
Thanks for the advice Brendan i will definately do a build diary and take my time with it.I will give the double neck a go.
Will purchase in next couple of weeks.

wokkaboy
09-02-2015, 09:27 PM
Hi Stocky welcome to the forum. If you haven't done much wiring of guitars I suggest maybe a single neck guitar to start with. The double neck SG is probably the most complicated kit to wire up

Rob L
09-02-2015, 10:13 PM
Hi Stocky!
I haven't built a PB guitar yet but have built many in the past. you've picked a great forum to be part off. No arrogance here at all. Everyone is more than willing to help.
Good luck on your first build and fun with it! :)

Fretworn
10-02-2015, 08:52 AM
Welcome Stocky!

perthstocky
10-02-2015, 03:37 PM
Thanks guys..Wokka i will definately do a single neck guitar first.I have a marine electrician at work who is keen to do the wiring for me,hopfully he will sort it out.

wokkaboy
10-02-2015, 03:50 PM