PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Philadelphia, USA

michael
31-10-2014, 04:58 PM
Hi, I'm a bassist in Philadelphia, PA and I just ordered my first bass kit: the IC-6S. I've been interested in lutherie for a few years, and have modified a few basses (defretting, refinishing, etc.). This will be my first bass built from parts, and I'm anxious to get started on it.

Adam has told me that the IC-6S is due in stock in mid-November, so I'm hoping to get it delivered to me in the US by early December, and this will be my winter-time project here. Last winter, we were walloped with snow here, so this looks like a fun snow-day activity. My wife is, fortunately, very supportive, as my bass collection has grown from 1 (five-string 35" scale fretted) to 2 (five-string fretless), 3 (four-string fretted project bass), and, finally (?), to this kit.

I discovered Pit Bull via Google, as I was looking for a bass kit that wasn't a four-string J or P bass. I've always wanted to try playing a six-string bass for longer than 10 minutes in a store, and I love spalted maple. It was an easy decision to make the purchase.

I've read a lot of forum threads over the past week and I'll start my own Build Diary soon (cross-posting to Talk Bass, where I'm a semi-active member) soon, possibly before I even get the kit, so I can share my plans with everyone.

pablopepper
31-10-2014, 08:50 PM
Lovely to have you along Michael. We need a few more low enders to keep all these guitarists in check lol. Check out some build diaries and if you're not sure, ask. No such thing as a stupid question. :)

bargeloobs
31-10-2014, 09:09 PM
/<\\/p>[]<\\/p>/Quote from pablopepper on October 31, 2014, 05:50
No such thing as a stupid question. :)

Is it okay to boil headphones??
http://www.pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/l6763-Duke-Nukem.PNG

stan
31-10-2014, 10:09 PM
Welcome Michael, lots of friendly , knowledgeable folks here

dingobass
31-10-2014, 10:48 PM
Yay! Another low ender :)